

Illinois Public Works Mutual Aid Network General Membership Meeting October 24, 2012 Bloomington, IL 61701 9:00 a.m.

A. Invocation/Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by President Betty Harrison at 9:00 a.m.

B. Roll Call/Introductions:

Roll was called. A quorum was present.

C. Recognition of President's Awards

President Betty Harrison recognized Don Wenzel from the City of Rolling Meadows for his service as Duty Officer. Don Wenzel has been successfully coordinated two major requests for assistance while serving as Duty Officer for IPWMAN.

President Betty Harrison recognized Edward Markison from McHenry County for his contribution to IPWMAN. Ed Markison has successfully recruited most of the agencies within McHenry County as IPWMAN members.

D. Report of Officers:

1. Treasurer's Report:

Betty Harrison asked for a motion to approve the appointment of Jeff Soland from the City of Troy to fill one of the vacant Region 8 Board of Director positions.

Gary Holm moved to approve the appointment.

Bob Scott seconded the motion.

The motion was approved by voice vote.

E. Report of Standing Committees

1. Operations Committee:

Keith Watson reported that SEECOM, IPWMAN's one-call center is operational and has assisted IPMWAN with notification of members for two separate responses since becoming

operational. He asked that members make sure that their contact information was current to help provide assistance during emergencies.

2. Management Committee:

a. By-Law Changes

Tony Torres mentioned that there were two by-law changes to be approved by the IPWMAN General Membership.

He said that many experienced public works leaders have retired who have valuable emergency management experience. He asked the membership to consider language that would allow retired public works employees to join IPWMAN.

Vydas Juskelis moved to approve the addition to the by-laws.

Roger Lauder seconded the motion.

The motion was approved by voice vote.

b. Membership Duties Letter

Tony Torres mentioned that a letter was prepared to send to members asking for their help to make IPWMAN a successful organization. Some of the areas where members could help were by manning a booth at a conference, attending meetings representing IPWMAN at other agencies' meetings or giving presentations.

He encouraged members to consider becoming involved in the organization.

c. Change in the Secretary/Treasurer Position

Tony Torres said when IPWMAN was first organized there were three member agencies, which made the combined roles of secretary and treasurer easy to fulfill. Since the membership has continued to grow, fulfilling the responsibilities of the Secretary/Treasurer office has become more time-consuming and worth review. He asked the board to approve a motion which would separate the position of Secretary/Treasurer into two positions.

Marc Small moved to separate the position of Secretary/Treasurer into two separate positions.

Keith Watson seconded the motion.

The motion was approved by voice vote.

These offices will be filled during the elections held at the October 2013 General Meeting.

3. Finance Committee

a. 2013 Budget

Dennis Schmidt presented a budget for fiscal year 2013. He stated that with no ITTF grant money available for the conference next year, IPWMAN would find revenue sources to pay for the 2013 annual conference.

Bob Tyler moved to approve the 2013 Budget.

Bob Scott seconded the motion.

The motion was approved by voice vote.

4. Training Committee

Marc Small discussed co-hosting a training program at Harper College with North Emergency Management Agencies Consortium (NEMAC) to provide a Highway Incident Management Course. He said members would receive a flier about the training. He discussed future training plans for the upcoming year.

5. Membership Committee:

a. Vacancies

Betty Harrison reported the Board of Directors approved the nomination of Jeff Soland from the City of Troy as a Board member from Region 8.

b. Elections for 2012

Ballots were distributed for election of Board of Directors from Regions 2, 7 and 9. The following were chosen as Board of Directors for a term to be served from October 2012 to October 2015.

Region 2:

Dan Davis, Winnebago County Richard Westmoreland, City of Moline

Region 7:

Dennis Schmidt, City of Champaign Bob Scott, City of Danville Region 9:

Steven Miller, City of Effingham Toby Rinehart, City of Flora

F. Other Business

There was no other business.

G. Adjourn

Dennis Schmidt moved to adjourn the meeting.

Bob Scott seconded the motion.

The motion to adjourn was approved by the members present. The meeting adjourned at 9:36 a.m. The next meeting will be held in October 2013 at a date to be determined.